Term Report

In this term, we were given a long project and we worked on it and made four models. I want to mention about the beginning of my project. I have worked on my models for four months. In the first model, we were expected making up a model with stick form element. When I do this, I gave importance some principles such as repetition, variation, differentiation, unity…etc. In this model, branching, rotation and addition are most important qualities to make a model. In this model, we started to learn some basic information such as their relationship between each other.

In the second model(variation-I), we were expected to create variation of first model. In the model, we just focused on relationship between elements. I wanted to remark particular parts which had relation in terms of horizontality-verticality, volumetric and geometrical.

After learned relationship, volumetric effects..etc. we were given to model 3( Variation-II). This model was variation of mode-2. In this model we used stick and planar form element together. There are three main parts in the model. The reason is that to show parts’ relations between them easily. These are linear, planar and merging parts. I stretched and used more planar elements in the planar part to emphasis it. The linear part has relation between each other in terms of proportions and measurement and the third part(merging part) I purposed to acquire stronger relation between linear and planar elements. On the other hand, as a whole I wanted to stronger effect ,so I eliminated some parts. With this way I created density in other particular parts. Especially, I gave importance to do not use  limited volume in every sides, so I tried to make different volumetric effect in each side.

After made this model, we were given two words each of us to apply them to new model. My words are juxtaposition and amplified, but I just chose juxtaposition. I want to tell why I’ve chosen to this word. Actually, juxtaposition is difficult to understand obviously. However, when I started to search the word, I noticed that juxtaposition is everywhere in our lives. Then, I looked at my previous model and noticed that there are more than one juxtaposition, but it was not seen clearly, so I decided to remark juxtapositional areas more. Before the model we made small model expressed the word. We expected how we achieved this in the model. In the small model I used curve and linear things together so they create juxtapositional areas with together. Each of them do not lose their characteristic qualities and they bring them together. And then, pre-jury came and we prepared a diagram for new model. I thought that using linear and planar element together and also I gained to remark their characteristic qualities more. However, during the jury, my professors said that I should concentrate on volume, also I shouldn’t think the juxtaposition in terms of elements. After the pre-jury I thought my critics and decided to apply as volume to this word.

In my new model(variation-III), I created a new variation of model-III. For the juxtaposed part, I want to tell how I have achieved them. I decided to separate parts which has different characteristic qualities. Therefore, I used planar elements and made up linear and planar parts. Group seen like linear was stretched more, and planar group was made bigger to feel more planar. With this way I divided two parts. Its main purpose is to remark juxtapositional volume between them and in the middle of the model I used linear and planar elements together and acquired juxtapositional volume in there. I used a lot of linear and planar elements together and revealed different juxtapositional volume.  On the other hand, we were given an opportunities to make mass, so I thought to use massive area in the juxtapositional area to remark it more and  I decided to use mass just on the linear elements. In this new model, we were given a new material(transparency) to used on it, but it is not using an element. My professor said that you should use the new material as a language of your model. I decided to use transparency material to divide some volumes. For instance, A planar element divides two different volume in the model and I used transparency instead of the planar element with this way, I acquired three different juxtapositional volume and strong volume.

Leave a Reply

